Prior Year Recipients of Member of Year Award

2016 - Cindy Schmit, ACP

2015 - Jessica Huyck, ACP

2014 - Karen Armstrong, PLS, PP

2013 - Jackie Hoefener, CP

2012 - Jennifer Frederick, CP

2011 - Michael Bultema

2010 - Valerie Winegar, CLA

2009 - Vicki Blake, CP

2008 - Cindy Schmit, ACP

2007 - Tammy Ackerman,CP

2006 - Terri Braun, CP
2005 - Deana Olson, CLA
2004 - Jerry Thovson
2003 - Karen Anderson
2002 - Rhonda Rentz, CLA

SDPA Member of the Year


Chris Lillo, ACP

2017 Nomination Letter

I would like to nominate Chris Lillo as SDPA’s 2017 Member of the Year.  She is truly a “go-to” person in our association, has chaired numerous committees, has served on the executive committee, and is an outstanding leader.  If you and the executive committee agree with my nomination, here is my proposal for presenting the award:


Our 2017 SDPA Member of the Year has been a member of the South Dakota Paralegal Association since 1993.  She is truly a “go-to” person in our association.  She has chaired numerous committees, including the membership, ethics, newsletter and professional development committees.  She has served as our parliamentarian and led the newsletter committee in designing, printing and e-mailing our Reporter.

Our 2017 SDPA Member of the Year is an outstanding leader and has held the offices of President, First Vice President, Second Vice President, Treasurer, NALA Liaison and filled the emergency vacancy as Second Vice President in 2016.  She has co-facilitated SDPA’s Leadership Academy, is a graduate of NALA’s 2011 LEAP Class, is a recipient NALA’s Affiliates Award, and sits on NALA’s Certifying Board.


Chris Lillo earned her CP in 1994, her specialty in Estate Planning & Probate in 1995, her ACP in Business Organizations: Incorporated Entities in 2010, and her ACP in Business Organizations: Noncorporate Entities in 2017.  She is employed at Woods, Fuller Shultz & Smith, P.C., in Sioux Falls, South Dakota.


Submitted by: Cindy Schmit, ACP


SDPA recognizes Chris for her outstanding talents, dedication and contributions for the period of 2016-2017. Great job, Chris!

Chris Lillo, ACP